ArtFits (vol. 10)

 

A look at people and the outfits they wear to art openings in New York City.

Photographs by Christos Katsiaouni

Location: Gordon Harrison Hull: Department of the Interior at Bryce Wolkowitz Gallery (06/25/2015)

The Art of First Impressions… in Design and Life

Chip Kidd gets to the point

“The next time he comes to Motor City, the Detroit police will be waiting… with handcuffs.”

shepard-fairey-detroit-warrant

Shepard Fairey, a wanted man in Michigan.

[Read more]

A Look Through ‘All Types of Characters’

Our curated group exhibition is on view Monday through Friday at Joshua Liner Gallery until July 10th, 2015.

Featuring: Andrew Jeffrey Wright, Andy Jenkins, Andy Rementer, Bill Plympton, Caleb Neelon, Chris DAZE Ellis, Chris Pape, Christian Rex van Minnen, Frohawk Two Feathers, Hiro Kurata, HuskMitNavn, Jaimie Warren, Jason Jägel, Jay Howell, Jeanette Hayes, Jim Houser, Luke Pelletier, Mark Mulroney, Mark Thomas Gibson, Matt Leines, Mel Kadel, Michael Alvarez, Michael Gaughan, Mr. Kiji, Othelo Gervacio, Raina Hamner, Richard Colman, STEEL, Steve Nazar, SUB, Taylor McKimens, Thom Lessner, Timothy Uriah Steele, and Winnie Truong.

For purchase inquiries contact: info@joshualinergallery.com

FORBRADLEYCARBONE Summer 2015 Beach Towels

espo-towel-bradley-carbone

We’re pleased to announce our participation in a collaboration with Bradley Carbone for a series of beach towels featuring the artwork of Stephen “ESPO” Powers, Michael Kagan, and Curtis Kulig. Measuring 34 × 66 inches, each towel is heavyweight jacquard woven and benefits a fund to assist Bradley with medical expenses related to a spinal cord injury that he suffered in February 2014.

Buy the towels here

[Read more]

Plant Heads

plant-head-2

Illustrated Wooden Planters by Barcelona-based artist Damián Quiroga

[Read more]

Openings & Parties: All Types of Characters

Thursday night saw the opening of All Types of Characters, our killer group show featuring 34 artists at Joshua Liner Gallery. With many artists in attendance as well luminaries in the art, fashion, music, and design worlds, we couldn’t have been happier with the turnout. On view through July 10th, 2015.

Photos by Christos Katsiaouni and Brent Kerr

All Types of Characters

ATOC-Tall

Tomorrow night (6/18) we’re opening the doors to our 34 artist group show extravaganza at Joshua Liner Gallery. If you’re in NYC, between 6pm and 8pm there’s no other place to be.

All Types of Characters
Organized by The World’s Best Ever | @worldsbestever

Andrew Jeffrey Wright | #andrewjeffreywright
Andy Jenkins | @bendpress
Andy Rementer | @andyrementer
Bill Plympton | @plymptoons
Caleb Neelon | @calebneelonart
Chris DAZE Ellis | @dazeworldnyc
Chris FREEDOM Pape | #ChrisFREEDOMPape
Christian Rex van Minnen | @van_minnen
Frohawk Two Feathers | @frohawktwofeathers
Hiro Kurata | @hiro_kurata
HuskMitNavn | @huskmitnavn1
Jaimie Warren | #jaimiewarren
Jason Jägel | @jagel
Jay Howell | @punksgitcut
Jeanette Hayes | @jeanettehayes
Jim Houser | @misterhouser
Luke Pelletier | @lukepelletier
Mark Mulroney | #markmulroney
Mark Thomas Gibson | #darthgibson
Matt Leines | @mattleines
Mel Kadel | @melkadel
Michael Alvarez | @_michaelalvarez_
Michael Gaughan | @michaelgaughanfunpix
Mr. Kiji | @mrkiji
Othelo Gervacio | @othelo_g
Raina Hamner | @rrainaterrorr
Richard Colman | @arecolman
STEEL | @sleazymccheesy
Steve Nazar | @nazarsteve
SUB | @tonycuranaj
Taylor McKimens | @taylormckimens
Thom Lessner | @thomlessner
Timothy Uriah Steele | @timothyuriahsteele
Winnie Truong | @winnietron

 

The Silicone Throne

gmae-of-thrones-dildo-throne

Because at the end of every season you feel shafted.

[Read more]

Nu Liife

graffiti-comics-nu-liife

by Andrew Jeffrey Wright / @ajw4ever

“Art is something that allows me to be alive, and function in this world”

Jason Jägel, one of the artists featured in our upcoming “All Types of Characters” show, talks and paints in San Francisco in this beautiful profile by Noe Chavez.

“Penguins Mirror” (2015)

by Daniel Rozin

“Penguins Mirror” is an installation scattered on the floor and comprised of 450 motorized stuffed animals. Reductive in palette, yet baroque in behavior, it performs an absurdly homogeneous system of movement. Playing with the compositional possibilities of black and white, each penguin turns from side to side and responds to the presence of an audience. As they perform, the penguins’ collective intelligence is puzzling, yet somehow familiar, as the plush toys enact a precise choreography rooted in geometry.

On view at bitforms gallery through July 1, 2015

Page 1 of 57212345...10...Last Page »